The Bahraini Human Rights Activist ..Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja

 

Name: Abdel-Hady Abdallah Hubail Al-Khawajaعبدالهادي الخواجةID

Age: 54 years

Country: Bahrain

Activism: Human rights defender

Marital Status: Married with four sons

Current Situation: Sentenced to life imprisonment

Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja is a prominent Bahraini human rights activist, who created his own domain and path that he has never deviated from. He adhered to working with the aim of raising citizens’ awareness of their rights, pressurizing into the abolition of the unjust laws, and supporting the oppressed wherever they are.

At the end of seventies, Al-Khawaja travelled to Europe, where he studied and began his human rights activism; in the aftermath of Bahrain’s political turmoil spurred in the eighties. He became the Co-founder of the Committee to Defend Political Prisoners in Bahrain (CDPPB) in 1982. Al-Khawaja was also granted political asylum in Denmark in 1991. Afterwards, in 1992, he founded, jointly with a group of Bahrainis living abroad, the Bahrain Human Rights Organization (BHRO), which he became its director. And then he was elected as the Secretary-General of the organization.

Upon his return to Bahrain in 2001 following the talk on political reforms, Al-Khawaja established the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights (BCHR). He contributed to the public awareness of human rights through mass popular symposiums and events. Moreover, he trained hundreds of activists and those who are interested in human rights in Bahrain and the Gulf. As a result of his leading human rights activism, Al-Khawaja has been subjected to manifold violations and physical assault, besides his detention several times.

In 2004, Al-Khawaja was detained by the Bahraini authorities on account of a speech, in which he criticized Bahrain’s Prime Minister, and whose title turned into a political slogan chanted by Bahrainis. Following protests staged against the Bahraini government, the human rights activist had been released upon a royal pardon. Since 2007, Al-Khawaja has been suffering crackdown campaign launched by the authorities, in addition to the smear campaign against BCHR. Furthermore, in February 2010, he was banned from travelling and arrested over an accusation of “insulting a public official” after an alleged scuffle with a security officer at the airport.

He participated in the Bahraini uprising coincidently took place with the Arab Spring revolutions. In the meantime, Al-Khawaja was raising the demonstrators’ awareness of human rights issues. As a consequence, in 9 April 2011, some masked policemen stormed his home, and beat him leaving him unconscious. He was, then, taken to the military hospital for an operation that lasted for four hours. In the 8th of May 2011, Al-Khawaja, along with 20 other activists, were referred to the Bahraini Court of National Safety (a military court), on charges of :“managing a terrorist organization, attempting to overthrow the regime by force, coordinating with a terrorist organization that works for a foreign country, and collecting money for a terrorist group”. They, accordingly, were handed down by the court a life imprisonment sentence on 22 June 2011.

In the same context, Bahrain’s Court of Cassation ordered, on 30 April 2012, the re-trial of 21 Bahraini activists, including Al-Khawaja, before the civil court. After a sham trial that lasted for four months, during which 16 hearings were convened, the Supreme Court of Appeal upheld the ruling issued by the National Safety Court against Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja. Also, on Monday the 7th of January 2013, the Bahraini Court of Cassation issued a final verdict that cannot be challenged, to uphold the life imprisonment sentences delivered by the military courts. During these trials, some activists refrained from attending the trial hearings, due to their disbelief in the seriousness and the credibility of the trial.

Al-Khawaja occupied several positions in regional and international human rights organizations. He is the former chairman of the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights (BCHR) and one of his founders. He was a member in the Amnesty International’s Fact-Finding Commission after the invasion of Iraq. He has also become a member of The Arab Group for Monitoring Media Performance since 2005. Additionally, he is a member of the Advisory Board of the Damascus Center for Human Rights Studies. During 2006-2007, Al-Khawaja was the Middle East and North Africa Protection Coordinator with Front Line Defenders. Furthermore, he was chosen as a member of the International Advisory Network in the Business and Human Rights Resource Center chaired by “Mary Robinson”, former UN High Commissioner for Human Right.

Al-Khawaja was honored for his role in the defense of human rights. In October 2012, he received the Danish newspaper Politiken’s annual Freedom Award, in recognition of his efforts in defending human rights and promoting democracy. He was named as ‘Regional Activist of the Year’ in 2005 by the Arab Program for Human Rights Activists. Also in 2005, he was elected as one of the Arab civil society institutions’ representatives to participate in the Forum for the Future held in Bahrain. He was invited by “Front Line” organization to provide his testimony as a human rights defender in the International Conference of Human Rights Defenders convened in Dublin in 2006, in front of hundreds of governments’ representatives, international bodies and human rights defenders.

What can you do?

1- Send the Head of His Royal Highness the Prime Minister’s Court an e-mail on [email protected]

or call: 17200000 – 17200000 demanding from the Prime Minister to release human rights defender “Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja”

2- Write to Bahrain’s Ministry of Justice & Islamic Affairs at the following address: Kingdom of Bahrain ,Diplomatic Area, Manama P.O.Box 450

or call: 17513000 – Fax: 17536343

Communicate with Ministry of Justice & Islamic Affairs via website: http://www.moj.gov.bh/default76a7.html?action=category&ID=159

calling on the ministry to release human rights activist “Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja”

3- Send an e-mail to the Shura Council on: [email protected]

demanding from the Shura Council to release human rights activist “Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja”

4- Write to the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders at: [email protected]

5- Publish images of human rights activist “Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja”, as well as some information about him on your Facebook & Twitter accounts and use this hashtag #حريتهم_حقهم

6- Send some information about human rights activist “Abdel-Hady Al-Khawaja” and the unfair ruling sentenced against him, to newspapers in your country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

الحقوقي البحريني عبدالهادي الخواجة

الاسم: عبد الهادي عبد الله حبيل الخواجةعبدالهادي الخواجةID
السن: 54 سنة
الدولة: البحرين
النشاط: مدافع حقوقي
الحالة الاجتماعية :متزوج وله 4 أبناء
الوضع الحالي: سجين مدى الحياة

عبد الهادي الخواجة هو ناشط حقوقي بحريني بارز، وضع بوصلته ورسم لنفسه طريقا لم يحد عنه أبداً، فقد تمسك بالعمل من أجل رفع مستوى وعي المواطنين بحقوقهم، والضغط باتجاه إلغاء القوانين المجحفة، والوقوف مع المظلومين والمضطهدين أينما كانوا.

سافر الخواجة الى أوروبا للدراسة في نهاية السبعينات وبدأ نشاطه الحقوقي فيها أثناء اضطرابات البحرين السياسية في الثمانينيات، فشارك في تأسيس “لجنة الدفاع عن المعتقلين السياسيين في البحرين” عام 1982، وبعد حصوله على اللجوء السياسي في الدنمارك عام 1991، أسس الخواجة في عام 1992 مع مجموعة من البحرينيين المقيمين في الخارج “المنظمة البحرينية لحقوق الإنسان”، وشغل الخواجة في البداية منصب المدير ثم تم انتخابه الأمين العام للمنظمة.

عاد الخواجة إلى البحرين عام 2001 مع بداية الحديث عن إصلاحات سياسية، وأسس “مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان” وساهم في التوعية العامة بحقوق الإنسان عبر الندوات الجماهيرية والفعاليات الشعبية، كما قام بتدريب المئات من النشطاء والمهتمين بحقوق الإنسان في البحرين والخليج، ونتيجة لنشاطه الحقوقي البارز تعرض الخواجة لعديد من الانتهاكات والاعتداءات الجسدية بالإضافة إلي اعتقاله عدة مرات،

اعتقلت السلطات البحرينية الخواجة في سنة 2004 بعد خطاب انتقد فيه رئيس الوزراء البحريني وتحول عنوان الخطاب إلى شعار سياسي هتف به البحرينيون، وأطلق سراحه بعفو ملكي بعد استمرار المظاهرات ضد الحكومة البحرينية. ومنذ 2007، تعرض الناشط البحريني للمضايقات التي بدأت تشنها السلطات ضده والتشكيك في “مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان”، ومنع من السفر في 9 شباط/فبراير عام 2010، وألقي القبض عليه بتهمة إهانة موظف رسمي بعد مشادة مزعومة مع ضابط الأمن بالمطار.

وشارك الخواجة في الانتفاضة البحرينية التي صاحبت ثورات الربيع العربي وقام بتوعية المتظاهرين بقضايا حقوق الإنسان، فداهمت منزله عناصر ملثمة من الشرطة في 9 نيسان/ابريل 2011، واعتدت عليه جسديا مما ترتب عليه فقدانه الوعي، نقل على إثرها الى المستشفى العسكري لإجراء عملية استمرت لمدة أربعة ساعات. وتمت إحالة الخواجة إلي محكمة السلامة الوطنية (محاكمة عسكرية) مع 20 ناشط أخر فى 8 ايار/مايو 2011، بتهمة “تنظيم وإدارة منظمة إرهابية، ومحاولة قلب نظام الحكم بالقوة وبالتنسيق مع منظمة إرهابية تعمل لصالح بلد أجنبي، وجمع الأموال لصالح جماعة إرهابية”، وحكم عليه بجانب عدد من النشطاء الآخرين في 22 حزيران/يونيو 2011، بالسجن المؤبد مدى الحياة.

في 30 نيسان/ابريل 2012 أصدرت محكمة التمييز البحرينية قراراً بإعادة محاكمة 21 ناشطا بحرينيا معارضا أمام القضاء المدني من بينهم الخواجة، وبعد محاكمة صورية استمرت لمدة أربعة أشهر، عقدت خلالها ستة عشر جلسة، امتنع بعض النشطاء عن حضورها لعدم اقتناعهم بجدية ومصداقية المحاكمة، أصدرت محكمة الاستئناف العليا في 4 ايلول/سبتمبر 2012، حكماً يقضى بتأييد العقوبة الصادرة بحق عبدالهادي الخواجة من محكمة السلامة الوطنية. وفي حكم نهائي وغير القابل للطعن، أيدت محكمة التمييز البحرينية يوم الاثنين 7 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013، الأحكام الصادرة من المحاكم العسكرية بالسجن المؤبد بحق الحقوقي عبد الهادي الخواجة.

شغل الخواجة عدة مناصب في منظمات حقوقية إقليمية ودولية، فهو الرئيس السابق لـ”مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان” وأحد مؤسسيه، شارك في لجنة منظمة العفو الدولية لتقصي الحقائق بعد غزو العراق، وأصبح منذ عام 2005 عضوا وخبيرا في المجموعة العربية لمراقبة أداء الإعلام، بالإضافة إلى كونه عضواً بالمجلس الاستشاري لمركز دمشق لحقوق الإنسان، وعمل مع منظمة “فرونت لاين ديفينرز” الدولية خلال عامي 2006-2007، كما تم اختياره منذ عام 2007 كعضو في هيئة المستشارين بمركز “معلومات الاقتصاد وحقوق الإنسان” الذي ترأسه “ماري روبنسون” مفوضة الأمم المتحدة السابقة لحقوق الإنسان.

تم تكريم الخواجة لدوره البارز في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان فقد منحته صحيفة “بوليتيكين” الدنماركية في تشرين الاول/اكتوبر 2012، جائزة الحرية تقديرا لجهوده في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان وتعزيز الديمقراطية، كما كرمه البرنامج العربي لنشطاء حقوق الإنسان “كناشط” المنطقة لعام 2005، وجرى انتخابه في الدوحة كأحد ممثلي مؤسسات المجتمع المدني العربية للمشاركة في منتدى المستقبل في البحرين عام 2005، كما دعته منظمة “فرونت لاين”، لتقديم شهادته كمدافع عن حقوق الإنسان في مؤتمرها الدولي في دبلن عام 2006، أمام المئات من ممثلي الحكومات والهيئات الدولية والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان.

ماذا تستطيع أن تفعل:
1- يمكنك إرسال بريد الكتروني الى ديوان صاحب السمو الملكي رئيس الوزراء البحريني على البريد الالكتروني: [email protected]
أو الاتصال على الأرقام: 17200000 – 17200000 ، مطالبا رئيس الوزراء بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي عبدالهادي الخواجة.

2- يمكنك الكتابة إلي وزارة العدل والشؤون الإسلامية البحرينية علي العنوان التالي: ص.ب: 450، المنامة ، المنطقة الدبلوماسية ، مملكة البحرين، أو الاتصال بالهاتف على الأرقام : 17513000 – فاكس: 17536343 ،
تواصل مع وزارة العدل من خلال الصفحة: http://www.moj.gov.bh/default76a7.html?action=category&ID=159
مطالبا وزارة العدل بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي عبدالهادي الخواجة.

3 – ارسل بريد الي مجلس الشورى علي البريد الألكتروني: [email protected]
مطالبا مجلس الشورى بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي عبدالهادي الخواجة.
4- اكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الامم المتحدة: [email protected]

5- انشر صور المدافع الحقوقي عبدالهادي الخواجة، ومعلومات عنه على حسابك في الفايسبوك وتويتر واستخدم هاشتاغ : #حريتهم_حقهم

6- أرسل للصحف في بلدك ومدينتك بمعلومات عن المدافع الحقوقي عبدالهادي الخواجة، والحكم الجائر الذي يقضيه بالسجن.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *