The Month's Prisoner of February “Razan Zaitouneh”

Name: Razan Zaitounehرزان زيتونة ID

Occupation: Human rights activist

Country: Syria

Current Situation: Abducted, along with her colleagues, since December

Razan Zaitouneh was born in 1977. She has been one of the most prominent lawyers and human rights activists defending political prisoners in Syria since 2001. She has played a key role in efforts to defend human rights for all people and protect independent groups and Syrian activists. Along with a number of other activists, Zaitouneh established the Violations Documentation Center in Syria (VDC), and co-founded in April 2011 the Local Coordination Committees (LCCs), which co-ordinate the work of local committees in various cities and towns across Syria. She also established the Local Development and Small Projects Support Office, which assists non-governmental organizations in Eastern Ghouta, near Damascus.

At the start of the Syrian uprising, Zaitouneh was forced into hiding owing to her media activism, so as to convey the truth and what is happening on the ground to the various media outlets, especially the violations (detention, torture,killing, and harassment) committed against citizens.

Zaitouneh’s home located in Damascus was stormed, in May 2011, by the Air Force Intelligence, which searched the house and confiscated many of her papers and personal belongings. The Air Force Intelligence, then, detained Razan’s brother-in-law together with her husband, activist Wa’el Hammada, who both had been held incommunicado for three months before being released.

Zaitouneh published dozens of articles and reports, in different websites and newspapers, on the situation of human rights as well as freedom of opinion and expression in Syria since 2004. She won the Anna Politkovskaya Award, which is given to a woman human rights defender. Jointly with the Syrian cartoonist Ali Farzat, Zaitouneh was also awarded the “Sakharov” Prize for Freedom of Thought, granted by the European Parliament.

Several months prior to her abduction, Zaitouneh wrote about the threats she had been receiving, and informed human rights activists outside Syria that they originated from local armed groups in Duma.

In the morning of 9 December, 2013, a group of the “Army of Islam” that is headed by Zahran Alloush raided the office of the VDC, and kidnapped Razan Zaitouneh alongside her colleagues, activists Wa’el Hamadeh, Samira Khalil, and Nazem Hammadi, who were, afterwards, taken to unknown place.

Those who wish to take part in the campaign, can visit ANHRI’s websites (www.anhri.net) and Maharat News’ one (www.maharat-news.com) to learn how to participate and show solidarity.

What can you do:

1- Write to the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders at:

[email protected]

2- Publish images of human rights activist “Razan Zaitouneh” as well as some information about her on your Facebook & Twitter accounts using the hashtag #حريتهم_حقهم

3- Send to the newspapers of your country some information about Razan Zaitouneh calling for her release, and pressurizing her abductors into setting her free.

4- KSA is among the countries that support the armed groups in Duma, therefore post to Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud via his Twitter account “@KingSalman” demanding him to release Razan Zaitouneh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

رزان زيتونة سجين شهر شباط/فبراير

الاسم: رزان زيتونةrazan

المهنة: ناشطة حقوقية

البلد: سوريا

الوضع الحالي: مختطفة مع فريق عملها منذ كانون الاول/ديسمبر 2013

تعد رزان زيتونة المولودة في عام 1977، أحد أبرز نشطاء حقوق الانسان والمحامين المدافعين عن المعتقلين السياسيين في سوريا منذ عام 2001. اذ ساهمت زيتونة بشكل كبير في دعم الجهود الرامية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان للجميع وحماية الجماعات المستقلة والنشطاء السوريين. كما أسست مع عدد من النشطاء الآخرين “مركز توثيق الانتهاكات” في سوريا، وكانت واحدة من مؤسسي “لجان التنسيق المحلية” في نيسان/ابريل 2011، التي تنظم عمل اللجان المحلية في مختلف المدن والبلدات السورية. كما أسست مكتب التنمية المحلية ودعم المشاريع الصغيرة، الذي ساهم في مساعدة المنظمات غير الحكومية في قلب الغوطة الشرقية بالقرب من دمشق.

مع بداية الثورة السورية اضطرت زيتونة للتخفي بسبب نشاطها الإعلامي، لنقل ما يحدث على الأرض لوسائل الاعلام المختلفة، خصوصا الانتهاكات التي يتعرض لها المواطنين من اعتقالات وتعذيب وقتل وتنكيل.

في ايار/مايو2011 جرى اقتحام منزلها في دمشق من قبل المخابرات الجوية، وتفتيش محتوياته ومصادرة العديد من أوراقها ومقتنايتها الشخصية، واعتقال شقيق زوجها، ثم اعتقال زوجها الناشط وائل حمادة، اذ قضى الاخوان نحو ثلاثة اشهر في الحبس الانفرادي قبل ان يفرج عنهما.

نشرت زيتونة عشرات المقالات والتقارير في مختلف المواقع الاِلكترونية والصحف حول أوضاع حقوق الانسان وحرية الرأي والتعبير في سوريا منذ عام 2004. وحصلت زيتونة على جائزة “آنا بوليتكوفسكايا” للمدافعات عن حقوق الانسان، كما حازت على جائزة “ساخاروف” الممنوحة من البرلمان الاوروبي، بالاشتراك مع رسام الكاريكاتير السوري علي فرزات.

قبل اختطاف زيتونة بعدة أشهر كتبت حول التهديدات التي تتلقاها وأبلغت نشطاء حقوق الإنسان خارج سوريا من أن منشأها هو من الجماعات المسلحة المحلية في دوما.

وفي صباح 9 كانون الأول / ديسمبر 2013 قامت مجموعة من “جيش الاسلام” التابعة لزهران علوش بإقتحام مكتب “مركز توثيق الانتهاكات” في مدينة دوما السورية، وخطفت زيتونة الى جانب فريق عملها النشطاء وائل حمادة، سميرة خليل، وناظم حمادي واقتادتهم إلى جهة غير معروفة.

ماذا تستطيع ان تفعل:

1- أكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة

[email protected]

2- أنشر صور الناشطة رزان زيتونة ومعلومات عنها على حسابك في “فايسبوك” و”تويتر” مع استخدام هاشتاغ : #حريتهم_حقهم.

3-إرسل للصحف في بلدك ومدينتك بمعلومات عن رزان زيتونة مطالبا بالكشف عن مصيرها، والضغط على خاطفيها للإفراج عنها.

4- من الدول الداعمة للجماعات المسلحة في دوما السورية المملكة العربية السعودية. لذا، اكتب للملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود عاهل السعودية ،عبر حسابه علي موقع التواصل الاجتماعي تويتر ” KingSalman@” وطالبه بالضغط للإفراج عن رزان زيتونة.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *