Mahmoud Shawkan Prisoner of the Month (May 2016)

Name: Mahmoud Abdel-Shakour Abo Zeid, aka “Shawkan”

Country: Egypt

Age: 28

Current Situation: Served 1000 days in custody, since his arrest on 14 August 2013

The 10th of May marked the completion of 1000 days in detention that has been endured by the Egyptian photojournalist Mahmoud Abu Zeid- known as “Shawkan”- since his arrest along with a number of Egyptian and foreign photographers from Al-Tayran Street, while covering the Egyptian Interior Ministry’s dispersal of Rabaa Al-Adwyia Sit-in on August 14, 2013.

Shawkan, 29, is an Egyptian photojournalist. He was graduated from Akhbar El Yom Academy “Journalism major” in 2011. He had been trained for six months at Al-Ahram Al-Masaay newspaper in Alexandria while he was still a student. Then he worked as a freelance photojournalist for a number of foreign newspapers.

Shawkan responded to the call made by the interior ministry and published on its official “Facebook” page urging journalists to be present during the break up of Rabaa Al-Adwiya sit-in. Accordingly, he took his own camera equipment and headed to the sit-in in the morning to took part in covering the dispersal incident in his capacity as a photo-journalist.

Nevertheless, Shawkan, together with a number of Egyptian and foreign journalists and photographers, were arrested by the security forces in the early hours of the dispersal process. Moreover, he was subject to a severe physical assault and stripped of all his equipment. He was detained with many others in the Cairo Stadium. All foreign journalists and photojournalists were later released, whereas Shawkan was taken to the First New Cairo Police Station then to Abu Zaabal prison, where he has been held on remand up till now.

Shawkan submitted all papers and certificates that prove his job as a journalist, including a letter from Demotix Agency sent to the Egyptian authorities. This letter shows that Shawkan was working for Demotix Agency that ordered him to cover the dispersal proving that he was just doing his job not participating in the incidents. However, the authorities in Egypt turned a blind eye to such a fact and decided to extend the period of his incarceration.

In September 2013, the Attorney General ordered Shawkan’s imprisonment renewal over the case, known in media as “Rabaa Sit-in Dispersal Incidents”, that carried no. 15899/2013 (Administrative Nasr City), after the prosecution pressed against him charges of “murder, assembly, and joining the Muslim Brotherhood group”. Shawkan was denied due process; as his lawyers were precluded from photocopying or even checking the case’s papers, or attending the investigations’ sessions. He was also deprived from getting to know the dates of some of the investigations and the changes that have taken place without any prior notice. Shawkan’s imprisonment has been automatically renewed for two consecutive years, in a breach of Article 143 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

During this period, Shawkan has suffered several health problems owing to his detention in inappropriate conditions and being deprived from receiving proper medical care. Shawkan suffers from hepatitis, severe anemia, and low blood sugar. His family has submitted at least 17 petitions to the Attorney General for his release due to health reasons, but to no avail.

Throughout the stages of his detention and the prosecution investigations, Shawkan kept repeating that he is a journalist, who does not know the reasons for his detention nor why he has been languishing in jail for this long time, asserting that he just went out of his home, where he was caring for his elderly parents, in order to carry out his job.

What you can do:

1- Write to the Egyptian Public Prosecutor reminding him of his role in protecting the values of justice and seeking truth in addition to the rule of law; noting that: a) pre-tial detention should only be used for strictly specified time, b) the defendant is innocent until proven guilty, and c) the imprisonment of Mahmoud Abdel-Shakour Abo Zeid “Shawkan” for more than 1000 days, without being tried or released, damages the reputation of the judicial body, as well as the principles of justice in Egypt.

The Public Prosecutor Office Address: Dar al-Qadha al-Ali, July 26 Street, Ambulance Square, Cairo, Egypt.. Tel: 25743751- 25760468 (Fax).

2- Post a comment on The Egyptian Public Prosecutor’s Facebook page, demanding to free Mahmoud Shawkan

http://goo.gl/QKq9I5

3- Share pictures and information about Mahmoud Shawkan, and send them to newspapers in your country, in order not to be completely forgotten.

4- Write to the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders at:

[email protected]

5- Post images of Mahmoud Shawkan on your Facebook & Twitter accounts using the hashtag #حريتهم_حقهم

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

محمود شوكان سجين الرأي لشهر مايو/أيار 2016

الاسم: محمود عبد الشكور أبو زيد الشهير بـ”شوكان”

شوكان IDالمهنة: صحافي حر

البلد: مصر

العمر: 28 عام

الوضع الحالي: قضى 1000 يوم في السجن، منذ اعتقاله في 14 أغسطس/آب 2013

يصادف يوم 10 مايو/أيار الجاري مرور 1000 يوم على اعتقال المصور الصحافي المصري محمود أبو زيد الشهير بـ”شوكان”، منذ القاء القبض عليه هو وعدد من المصورين المصريين والأجانب فى شارع الطيران أثناء تغطيته الصحفية لقيام وزارة الداخلية المصرية بفض اعتصام رابعة العدوية في 14 أغسطس/آب 2013.

شوكان مصور صحافي يبلغ من العمر 29 عاماً، تخرج من أكاديمية أخبار اليوم “قسم صحافة”، عام 2010، وبدأّ بالتدريب لمدة ستة شهور في جريدة الأهرام المسائي بالأسكندرية وهو مازال طالبًا، ثم عمل مصور صحافي حر مع عدد من الصحف الاجنبية.

استجاب شوكان للمناشدة التي أطلقتها وزارة الداخلية عبر صفحتها الرسمية علي موقع التواصل الاجتماعي “فيسبوك” للصحافيين بالتواجد أثناء فض اعتصام رابعة العدوية، فاصطحب معدات التصوير الخاصة به وتوجه إلى مكان الاعتصام صباحا ليشارك كمصور صحافي فى تغطية عملية الفض.

اعتقلت قوات الأمن شوكان وعدد من المصورين والصحفيين المصريين والأجانب فى الساعات الأولى من عملية الفض وضرب ضربا مبرحا وتم تجريده من كافة معداته، واعتقل مع كثيرين في استاد القاهرة ثم أطلق سراح المصورين والصحافيين الأجانب لاحقا، بينما نقل شوكان الى قسم أول القاهرة الجديدة ثم الى سجن أبو زعبل، حيث ظل رهن الحبس حتى يومنا هذا.

قدم شوكان لأجهزة الأمن كل الأدلة والشهادات التي تثبت أنه صحافي، منها خطاب وكالة “ديموتكس” الذي أرسلته للسلطات المصرية تؤكد فيه أن شوكان كان يغطي الأحداث لصالح الوكالة وليس مشاركًا فيها، إلا أن السلطات المصرية أصرت على تجاهل هذه الحقيقة وقررت مد فترة حبسه.

في سبتمبر 2013، أمر النائب العام بتجديد حبس شوكان في القضية المعروفة إعلامياً باسم “أحداث فض اعتصام رابعة”، والتي تحمل رقم 15899 لسنة 2013، إداري أول مدينة نصر، بعد أن وجهت له النيابة العامة تهما بـ”القتل والتجمهر والإنتماء لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين”، وحرم شوكان من توفر شروط المحاكمة العادلة، حيث منع محاميه من تصوير أوراق القضية، أو الاطلاع عليها، أو حتى الحضور معه في بعض التحقيقات، فضلاً عن عدم إعلامه بمواعيد بعض التحقيقات أو تغييرها بدون سابق إنذار، واستمر تجديد الحبس تلقائيا دون محاكمة لمدة عامين كاملين بالمخالفة للمادة 143 من قانون الإجراءات الجنائية.

تعرض شوكان لعدة مشاكل صحية نتيجة حبسه في ظروف غير ملائمة وحرمانه من تلقي الرعاية الطبية المناسبة، حيث يعاني من التهاب الكبد، والأنيميا الحادة، وانخفاض معدل السكر في الدم، وتقدمت عائلته بما لا يقل عن 17 التماسا إلى النائب العام للإفراج عنه لأسباب صحية، ولكن دون جدوى.

استمر شوكان طوال مراحل اعتقاله والتحقيق معه في النيابة يردد انه مصور صحافي، ولا يدري سبب اعتقاله، ولماذا يجلس فى الزنزانة طوال هذه المدة، وانه نزل من البيت الذى يرعى فيه أبويه المسنين لأداء عمله.

ماذا تستطيع أن تفعل:

1 – اكتب إلى : النائب العام المصري ، لتذكره بدوره في حماية قيم العدالة والبحث عن الحقيقة وسيادة القانون، وأن الحبس الاحتياطي يجب أن يستخدم في أضيق الحدود، وأن المتهم بريء إلى أن تثبت إدانته.

أن حبس محمود عبد الشكور أبو زيد الشهير بـ”شوكان”، أكثر من 1000 يوم، دون محاكمة ودون إخلاء سبيل، يسيء لسمعة القضاء وقيم العدالة في مصر.

مكتب النائب العام العنوان : دار القضاء العالي – شارع 26 يوليو – ميدان الإسعاف – القاهرة تليفون : 25743751-25760468 فاكس

2 – علق على صفحة النيابة العامة المصرية على الفيسبوك ، مطالبا باسترجاع حرية محمود شوكان :

http://goo.gl/QKq9I5

3 – انشر صور محمود شوكان، ومعلومات عنه ، وارسلها للصحف في بلدك ومدينتك ، حتى لا يظل شوكان فريسة للنسيان.

4- اكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة: [email protected]

5- إنشر صور “محمود شوكان” ومعلومات عنه على حسابك في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي واستخدم هاشتاغ : “#حريتهم_حقهم”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *