Syrian Activist Bassel Khartabil The Month Prisoner (August 2016)

باسل خرطبيلIDName: Bassel Khartabil

Occupation: Computer Engineer

Nationality: Syrian

Current Situation: Detained since March 2012

A Syrian of Palestinian parents, Khartabil is a 34-year-old computer engineer who worked to build a career in software and web development. Before his arrest, Khartabil used his technical expertise to help advance freedom of speech and access to information via the internet.

On March 15, 2012, Military Intelligence arrested Khartabil and held him in incommunicado detention for eight months before moving him to ’Adra prison in Damascus in December 2012. During this time he was subjected to torture and ill-treatment. He remained in ’Adra until October 3, 2015, when he managed to inform his family that he was being transferred to an undisclosed location. Since then his whereabouts remain unknown and there are serious concerns for his life. Nevertheless, his wife had received unconfirmed reports from an alleged source inside the Syrian Military Intelligence suggests that he had been tried by a Military Field Court in the military police headquarters in al-Qaboun, which sentenced him to death. As a consequence, 36 local and international organizations issued a statement in November 2015 calling for the release of Khartabil ensuring his life is preserved.

Since his detention, many human rights groups have campaigned for his release. On 21 April 2015, the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention declared his detention a violation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and called for his release, yet the Syrian authorities refuse to free him.

Khartabil has won many awards, including the 2013 Index on Censorship Digital Freedom Award for using technology to promote an open and free internet, and was named one of Foreign Policy magazine’s Top 100 Global Thinkers of 2012 “for insisting, against all odds, on a peaceful Syrian revolution.”

Among other projects, he founded Creative Commons Syria, a nonprofit organization that enables people to share artistic and other work using free legal tools. Despite his imprisonment, Khartabil’s digital work is still advancing knowledge; as his colleagues produced a new 3D model of the ancient Palmyra city, which was destroyed by Islamic State (ISIS), using data collected by Khartabil before his detention. The project was able to reconstruct the city’s earlier appearance based on Khartabil’s measurements.

It’s worth mentioning that the Military Field Courts in Syria are exceptional courts that have secret closed-door proceedings and do not allow for the right to defense. Based on accounts by people who have appeared before these courts, the proceedings were perfunctory – lasting minutes – and did not meet minimum international standards for a fair trial.

What Can You Do?

1- Write to the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders at:

[email protected]

2- Post images of Bassel Khartabil and share information about him on your Facebook & Twitter accounts using the hashtag #حريتهم_حقهم

3- Send to newspapers in your country some information about Bassel Khartabil demanding to reveal his fate and pressurize the Syrian government to release him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

باسل خرطبيل سجين شهر اغسطس 2016

الاسم: باسل خرطبيلباسل خرطبيلID

المهنة: مهندس حاسوب

الجنسية: سوري

الوضع الحالي: معتقل منذ أذار/ مارس 2012

باسل خرطبيل مهندس حاسوب سوري لأبوين فلسطينيين يبلغ من العمر 34 عاما. أسس لنفسه مسارا مهنيا بمجال البرمجيات والمواقع الإلكترونية. استخدم خرطبيل، قبل اعتقاله، خبرته التقنية للمساهمة في تعزيز حرية التعبير والوصول إلى المعلومات عبر الانترنت.

اعتقلت المخابرات العسكرية خرطبيل في 15 مارس/آذار 2012، واحتجزته بمعزل عن العالم الخارجي 8 أشهر قبل نقله إلى “سجن عدرا” بدمشق، في ديسمبر/كانون الاول 2012. تعرّض خلال تلك الفترة للتعذيب وسوء المعاملة. بقي في “عدرا” حتى 3 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2015، عندما تمكّن من إبلاغ عائلته أنه سينُقل إلى مكان مجهول. لا يزال مكانه مجهولا منذئذ، وهناك مخاوف جديّة على حياته. الا ان انباء غير مؤكدة وصلت لزوجته من مصدر في الاستخبارات العسكرية السورية اشارت الى محاكمة خرطبيل والحكم عليه بالاعدام أمام محكمة عسكرية ميدانية في مقر الشرطة العسكرية في مدينة القابون. الامر الذي دفع 36 منظمة حقوقية اقليمية ودولية الى اصدار بيان للمطالبة بالافراج عن خرطبيل والحفاظ على حياته في تشرين الثاني 2015.

كما أطلقت جماعات حقوقية عدة حملات من أجل إطلاق سراح خرطبيل منذ اعتقاله. اذ اعلنت مجموعة العمل التابعة للأمم المتحدة المعنية بالاحتجاز التعسفي في 21 أبريل/نيسان 2015، أن اعتقاله انتهاك للعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، ودعت إلى إطلاق سراحه، ولا تزال السلطات السورية ترفض الإفراج عنه.

حصل خرطبيل على عدد من الجوائز، منها “جائزة مؤشر الرقابة على حرية التعبير الرقمية” 2013 لاستخدامه التكنولوجيا لتعزيز حرية وانفتاح الانترنت. كما وضعته مجلة “فورين بوليسي” ضمن قائمتها لأهم 100 مفكر عالمي لعام 2012، “لإصراره رغم كل الظروف على سلمية الثورة السورية”.

ومن بين مشروعاته، أسس خرطبيل “المشاع الإبداعي” في سوريا، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تمكّن الافراد من التشارك في الأعمال الفنية وغيرها باستخدام أدوات قانونية مجانية. ورغم حبسه، ما زال عمل خرطبيل البرمجي يسهم في التقدم المعرفي. اذ أنتج زملاؤه نموذجا ثلاثي الأبعاد لمدينة تدمر الاثرية، التي تعرضت للتدمير على يد “داعش” باستخدام بيانات جمعها خرطبيل قبل احتجازه. وقد تمكن المشروع من إعادة بناء مظهر المدينة التاريخية قبل تدميرها بناء على قياسات أعدها خرطبيل.

يذكر ان المحاكم الميدانية العسكرية السورية هي محاكم استثنائية تتبع مداولات سرية ولا تسمح بالحق في التمثيل القانوني. بناء على شهادات أشخاص مثلوا أمام هذه المحاكم، فإجراءاتها صورية، وتستغرق المحاكمة دقائق، ولا تستوفي المعايير الدولية الدنيا للمحاكمات العادلة.

ماذا تستطيع ان تفعل؟

1- أكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة

[email protected]

2- أنشر صور للناشط باسل خرطبيل ومعلومات عنه على حسابك في “فايسبوك” و”تويتر” مع استخدام هاشتاغ : #حريتهم_حقهم.

3-إرسل للصحف في بلدك ومدينتك بمعلومات عن باسل خرطبيل مطالبا بالكشف عن مصيره، والضغط على الحكومة السورية للإفراج عنه.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *