“Their Freedom is Their Right” Campaign Declares Rights Activist “Nabeel Rajab” the Month Prisoner of September 2016

Profile

Name: Nabeel Rajab

Occupation: Human rights activist

Country: Bahrain

Age: 52, born in 1 September 1964

Current Situation: Detained since 13 June 2016 on a charge of discrediting Bahrain

Nabeel Rajab is a Bahraini human rights activist. He is the President of the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights (BCHR) and the Co-Founding Director of the Gulf Centre for Human Rights (GCHR). He is also the Deputy Secretary General of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH). On the 13th of June, 2016, the security forces stormed the home of Nabeel Rajab and detained him on a charge of “spreading false news and rumours about the internal situation in a bid to discredit Bahrain” in connection to some statements he made in TV interviews in early 2015 and 2016. Since his arrest, he has been held in solitary confinement and may face sentences of up to 15 years in prison.

On the 26th of June 2016, Rajab’s lawyer learned that the charges previously brought against his client with respect to freedom of opinion and expression- including those of “disseminating rumors in time of war” and “insulting a statutory body”- had been referred to the court. These charges were leveled against him for the first time in April 2015 and are related to tweets the activist posted criticizing the ongoing torture in Bahrain’s prisons and the human cost of the war in Yemen. Following his release upon a royal pardon issued in Ramdan month, these charges were suspended after he had served six months in prison in addition to the travel ban imposed against him. Besides the aforementioned accusations, new charges have been brought against Rajab. His court hearing has been postponed, for the second time, to September 5, 2016.

Nabeel Rajab’s health is deteriorating, as he suffers from chronic gallstones and skin conditions, and the authorities had refused to provide treatment for him. The activist has been rushed to Bahrain’s military hospital after suffering unprecedented heart problems after 15 days of solitary confinement. According to his family, Nabeel Rajab started to suffer an irregular heartbeat and was consequently moved to the Coronary Care Unit at the Bahrain Defence Force Hospital, where he had been receiving treatment for a brief period of time.

Shortly thereafter, he returned to his solitary confinement cell. In a press statement from his wife Sumaya Rajab, she affirmed that “the family raised their extreme worries about the effects isolated detention would have on Nabeel’s health, especially that he started to suffer heart problems he never suffered before, but they were ignored by the authorities. My husband is a human rights defender and does not deserve this treatment”, she said.

Rajab started his human rights activity when he became involved in the 1990s uprisings in Bahrain. And after the Bahraini uprising of 2011, he became one of the renowned Arab Internet activists building up a following of 320,000 on his page on “Twitter”. Since the 2011 Arab Spring, Rajab had faced prosecution for several times and was repeatedly detained during 2012. He also served a two-year sentence in prison on a charge of “organizing unauthorized protests” during 2012-2014.

Following his release in 2014, Rajab launched a human rights advocacy mission in Europe. In the same year, he attended the Human Rights Council in Geneva and the European Parliament in Brussels besides visiting some European capitals. He also took part in twenty-seventh session of the Human Rights Council.

What can you do?

1- Send the Head of His Royal Highness the Prime Minister’s Court an e-mail on [email protected]

or call: 17200000 – 17200000 demanding from the Prime Minister to release human rights activist Nabeel Rajab

Send some information or picture of Zainab Al-Khawaja along with her baby via “Facebook” or “Twitter”.

2- Write to the Ministry of Justice & Islamic Affairs through the following address: PO Box 450, Manama, Diplomatic Area, Bahrain, or call: 17513000 – Fax: 17536343,

Or communicate with the Ministry of Justice via website: http://www.moj.gov.bh/default76a7.html?action=category&ID=159

demanding the release of rights activist Nabeel Rajab

3-Send an e-mail to the Shura Council on: [email protected]

calling for the release human rights defender Nabeel Rajab

5- Share some pictures and information about Nabeel Rajab on your “Facebook” and “Twitter” page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

نبيل رجب سجين شهرسبتمبر

nabeel IDبروفايل سجين شهر ايلول/سبتمبر نبيل رجب

الاسم: نبيل رجب

المهنة: ناشط حقوقي

البلد: البحرين

السن: 52 عاما حيث ولد في 01 سبتمبر/ايلول 1964

الوضع الحالي: معتقل منذ 13 يونيو/حزيران 2016 بتهمة محاولة تشويه سمعة البحرين

نبيل رجب هو ناشط حقوقي بحريني ورئيس مركز البحرين لحقوق الانسان، والمدير المؤسس لمركز الخليج لحقوق الانسان، كما يشغل منصب نائب الأمين العام للفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. في يوم 13 يونيو/حزيران عام 2016 داهم الأمن البحريني منزل نبيل رجب واعتقله بتهمة “نشر أخبار كاذبة وشائعات حول الوضع الداخلي في محاولة لتشويه سمعة البحرين”، وهي تهمة ترتبط بتصريحات قدمها رجب خلال مقابلات تلفزيونية في أوائل 2015 و 2016. ومنذ اعتقاله يقبع رجب في الحبس الانفرادي وقد يواجه احكاما تصل الى السجن 15 عاما.

وفي يوم 26 يونيو/حزيران  2016، أبلغ محامي نبيل رجب بأن التهم الموجهة ضد نبيل حول حرية الرأي والتعبير سابقا قد أحيلت إلى المحكمة، ومنها تهمة “نشر الشائعات في زمن الحرب” و “إهانة هيئة نظامية”، وهي تهم وجهت لأول مرة ضده في أبريل/نيسان 2015، بعد أن نشر رجب مجموعة من التغريدات انتقد فيها التعذيب على نطاق واسع في السجون البحرينية، والتكاليف الإنسانية للحرب في اليمن، لكنها عُلقت بعد الافراج عنه بعفو ملكي خلال شهر رمضان بعد ان قضى عقوبة سجن لمدة ستة أشهر ومنع على اثرها من السفر. وتتواصل هذه الاتهامات بالإضافة إلى التهم الجديدة. وقد تم تأجيل جلسة الإستماع لرجب مرتين، اما الجلسة المقبلة فتأتي في 5 سبتمبر/ايلول 2016.

ويواجه رجب حالة صحية صعبة، اذ انه يعاني من حصى في المرارة والتهابات جلدية، وقد رفضت السلطات تأمين العلاج له. وبعد 15 يوما من الحبس الانفرادي، نقل رجب الى المستشفى العسكري بسبب معاناة من مشاكل في القلب لم يسبق لها مثيل. ووفقا لعائلته، بدأ نبيل يعاني من عدم انتظام ضربات القلب ونقل إلى وحدة العناية التاجية في المستشفى العسكري، حيث كان يعالج لفترة وجيزة، وعاد إلى الحبس الانفرادي على الفور بعد ذلك. وقد أكدت زوجته سمية رجب في تصريح صحافي ان “العائلة طرحت المخاوف الشديدة لديها حول آثار الحبس الانفرادي على صحة نبيل على السلطات، خصوصا انه بدأ يعاني من مشاكل في القلب قبل اعتقاله، لكن تم تجاهلها. زوجي مدافع عن حقوق الإنسان ولا يستحق هذه المعاملة”.

يذكر ان نبيل رجب بدأ نشاطه الحقوقي مع بداية الحراك البحريني في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، ومع قيام الثورة البحرينية في 2011 اصبح رجب أحد أشهر النشطاء العرب على الإنترنت، إذ يتابعه على موقع التواصل الاجتماعي “تويتر” أكثر من 320 ألف متابع. ومنذ الربيع العربي عام 2011، تعرض رجب ولمرات عديدة للمقاضاة، كما اعتقل مراراً وتكراراً خلال عام 2012، وقضى سنتين في السجن بين عامي 2012 و2014 بتهمة “تنظيم احتجاجات غير مرخصة”.

 بعد الإفراج عنه في عام 2014، قام رجب بجولة مدافعة الى أوروبا، اذ زار في سبتمبر/أيلول من نفس العام مجلس حقوق الإنسان في جنيف، والبرلمان الأوروبي في بروكسل، وبعض العواصم الأوروبية. كما شارك في الدورة السابعة والعشرين لمجلس حقوق الإنسان.

ماذا تستطيع أن تفعل:

1- يمكنك إرسال بريد الكتروني الى ديوان صاحب السمو الملكي رئيس الوزراء البحريني على البريد الالكتروني: [email protected]

أو الاتصال على الأرقام: 17200000 – 17200000 ، مطالبا رئيس الوزراء بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي نبيل رجب.

2- يمكنك الكتابة إلي وزارة العدل والشؤون الإسلامية البحرينية علي العنوان التالي: ص.ب: 450، المنامة ، المنطقة الدبلوماسية ، مملكة البحرين، أو الاتصال بالهاتف على الأرقام : 17513000 – فاكس: 17536343 ،

تواصل مع وزارة العدل من خلال الصفحة: http://www.moj.gov.bh/default76a7.html?action=category&ID=159

مطالبا وزارة العدل بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي نبيل رجب.

3 – ارسل بريد الي مجلس الشورى علي البريد الألكتروني: [email protected]

مطالبا مجلس الشورى بالإفراج عن المدافع الحقوقي نبيل رجب.

4- اكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الامم المتحدة: [email protected]-urgent

5- شارك صور ومعلومات عن الحقوقي نبيل رجب على صفحتك على فايسبوك وتويتر

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *