“Their Freedom is Their Right” Campaign Declares Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani the Month Prisoner of October 2016

Prisoner of October 2016

Name: Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani

Occupation: Economics professor at the Institute of Diplomatic Affairs of the Saudi Arabian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Country: Saudi Arabia

Age: 49

Current Situation: Serving the fourth year of his prison term at al-Ha’ir prison for his human rights activities.

Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani is a writer, human rights activist and politician, who wrote in many of the Saudi newspapers. Al-Qahtan was on the 2012 Foreign Policy top 100 global thinkers list. He received his PhD from Indiana University in the United States, and was employed as an economics professor at the Institute of Diplomatic Affairs of the Saudi Arabian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Al-Qahtani started his human rights activity by taking part in signing a statement to the King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz condemning the secret trials brought against terrorism suspects, which was published in May 13, 2009. In October of the same year, he signed the founding document of the Saudi Civil and Political Rights Association (ACPRA), an independent human rights organization aims at raising awareness with regard to human rights. ACPRA had previously called on the king of Saudi Arabia to form an elected parliament with a greater powers and authority that would enable MPs to hold officials accountable.

Al-Qahtani was one of ACPRA team members in defending several human rights activists and politicians. While attending the trial hearing of Dr. Abdullah al-Hamid, for being a member in his defense team, he was ordered by the same court to face a long list of charges.

Al-Qahtani appeared before the Riyadh Specialized Criminal for many hearings that were marred by several legal violations, most notably breaching the right to a public hearing in addition to mandating investigators from the Criminal Investigation Authority instead of the investigative judges. On 9 March 2013, al-Qahtani was sentenced to ten years imprisonment and a further ten-year travel ban after being convicted of several charges relating to his human rights activities. Among these charges are: setting up an unlicensed organization, seeking to “undermine the state’s policies”, disseminating false information about Saudi Arabia to UN human rights mechanisms, and “inciting international organizations against the Saudi Kingdom”. The court also ruled to disband ACPRA and confiscate its property.

The Saudi authorities ordered the immediate detention of al-Qahtani at the court and upon pronouncing the sentence before being upheld by the Court of Appeal. The human rights activist is now serving the fourth year of his prison term at al-Ha’ir prison in Riyadh, where he has spent more than 1,300 days so far.

The biography of Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani doesn’t feature an image of a well known Saudi thinker and academic, who is considered as one of the most prominent thinkers in the world. Rather, it sheds the light more on the political reform movements in Saudi Arabia and the dream of a group of reform advocates to build a democratic state and form an elected parliament monitoring the executive authority, besides the end of he Saudi Civil and Political Rights Association (ACPRA). 

What can you do?

1- Post to Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud via his Twitter account “@KingSalman”; calling upon him to release Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani.

2- Make a complaint to the royal court on the Saudi royal court website:

https://tawasol.royalcourt.gov.sa/

3- Send a letter to the Saudi royal court:

Postal code: 11111 Tel.: 00966114822222 City: Riyadh

4- Send an email to the UN Special Rapporteur on human rights

[email protected].

5- Publish images of Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani and some information about him on your Facebook & Twitter accounts and use this hashtag #حريتهم_حقهم

6- Send to newspapers in your country some information about Dr. Mohammed Fahad al-Qahtani and the unfair sentence against him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

حملة “حريتهم حقهم” تعلن الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني سجين شهر أكتوبر/ تشرين الاول 2016

%d9%85%d8%ad%d9%85%d8%af-%d9%81%d9%87%d8%af-%d8%a7%d9%84%d9%82%d8%ad%d8%b7%d8%a7%d9%86%d9%8a-2بروفايل سجين أكتوبر 2016

الاسم: محمد فهد القحطاني

المهنة: أستاذ الاقتصاد في المعهد الدبلوماسي التابع لوزارة الخارجية السعودية

البلد: السعودية

السن: 49

الوضع الحالي: يقضي سنته الرابعة في سجن الحائر لنشاطه في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان.

الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني مفكر وكاتب وناشط حقوقي وسياسي، كتب في العديد من الصحف السعودية، اختارته مجلة “فورين بولسي” ضمن أبرز مائة مفكر في العالم في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2012.

حصل القحطاني على الدكتوراه من جامعة إنديانا الأمريكية وعمل كأستاذ للاقتصاد في المعهد الدبلوماسي التابع لوزارة الخارجية السعودية.

بدأ القحطاني نشاطه الحقوقي بالمشاركة في توقيع بيان ُوجه للملك عبد الله بن عبد العزيز يدين المحاكمات السرية للمتهمين بالإرهاب، ونُشر في 13 مايو/آيار 2009م، وفي شهر أكتوبر/تشرين الاول من نفس العام  وقع القحطاني على البيان التأسيسي لجمعية الحقوق المدنية والسياسية  (حسم) في السعودية ، وهي جمعية تهدف إلى التوعية بحقوق الإنسان، وسبق ان دعت الجمعية ملك السعودية إلى تشكيل برلمان منتخب بصلاحيات أكبر تمكنه من حساب المسؤولين.

وكان ضمن فريق الجمعية في الدفاع عن عدة ناشطين حقوقيين وسياسيين وكان عضو في فريق الدفاع عن الدكتور عبد الله الحامد، وبينما كان يحضر إجراءات المحاكمة بوصفه عضواً في فريق الدفاع صدر أمر بمثوله أمام المحكمة ذاتها ليواجه قائمة كبيرة من الاتهامات.

ومثل القحطاني أمام المحكمة الجزائية في الرياض لعدة جلسات، شابها العديد من الانتهاكات والخروقات القانونية، من أبرزها الإخلال بمبدأ علانية المحاكمة، فضلاً عن انتداب محققين من المباحث الجنائية للتحقيق بدلًا من قضاة التحقيق.

وقضت المحكمة في 9 مارس/آذار 2013، بسجن الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني 10 سنوات ومنعه من السفر 10 سنوات أخرى، وواجه فيها إحدى عشرة تهمة كلها متعلقة بنشاطه في حقوق الإنسان منها: المشاركة في تأسيس جمعية غير مرخصة، والسعي إلى “تقويض سياسات الدولة، وتقديم معلومات زائفة عن السعودية لآليات الأمم المتحدة المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، وتحريض المنظمات الدولية على المملكة والاشتراك في جمعية غير مرخصة”، كما قضت المحكمة بحل جمعية الحقوق المدنية والسياسية “حسم” ومصادرة أموالها.

واعتقلت السلطات السعودية الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني في المحكمة وفور النطق بالحكم، وقبل المصادقة عليه من محكمة الاستئناف، ويقضي حاليا سنته الرابعة في سجن الحائر الجنائي بمدينة الرياض، حيث قضى حتى الآن ما يزيد عن 1300 يوم.

السيرة الذاتية للدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني، لا ترسم فقط صورة مفكر وأكاديمي سعودي يعد من أبرز مائة مفكر في العالم، ولكنها ترسم أيضا ملامح حراك الإصلاح السياسي في السعودية وحلم مجموعة من دعاة الإصلاح في بناء دولة ديموقراطية وبرلمان منتخب يراقب ويحاسب السلطة التنفيذية، ونهاية جمعية الحقوق المدنية والسياسية “حسم”.

ماذا تستطيع أن تفعل:

1- أكتب للملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود عاهل السعودية ،عبر حسابه على موقع التواصل الاجتماعي تويتر ” [email protected] وطالبه بالإفراج عن الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني.

2- أكتب شكوى للديوان الملكي على موقع الديوان الملكي السعودي:

https://tawasol.royalcourt.gov.sa/

3- أكتب إلى الديوان الملكي السعودي

الرمز البريدي: 11111 الهاتف: 00966114822222 المدينة : الرياض

4- أكتب للمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة

[email protected]

5- أنشر صور الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني ومعلومات عنه على حسابك في “فايسبوك” و”تويتر” مع استخدام هاشتاغ : #حريتهم_حقهم.

6- إرسل للصحف في بلدك ومدينتك بمعلومات عن الدكتور محمد فهد القحطاني ، والحكم الباطل الصادر ضده.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *